WWE’s Global Cruiserweight Series receives a new name


The upcoming WWE Global Cruiserweight Series tournament has received a new name and WWE is now marketing it as the Cruiserweight Classic.

Qualifying matches are currently being held at a few independent promotions in the United States and in the United Kingdom with the winners advancing to the 32-man tournament which will be filmed at Full Sail University in Winter Park, Florida.

Two more qualifiers will be done on Saturday at EVOLVE’s show in Queens, New York, with Drew Gulak vs Tracy Williams and Fred Yehi vs TJ Perkins. So far there are 9 who have earned a spot in the Cruiserweight Classic and these are Rich Swann, Zack Sabre Jr, Jack Gallagher, Johnny Gargano, Tommaso Ciampa, Noam Dar, Akira Tozawa, Ho Ho Lun, and Lince Dorado.