Kevin Nash announced for the WWE Hall of Fame class of 2015


Kevin Nash, the former WWE and WCW champion and founding member of the nWo, will be entering the WWE Hall of Fame class of 2015 later this week with the announcement video to be played on Raw tonight. Rolling Stone got the “exclusive” this time around and announced Nash for the Hall of Fame with an article and interview on their website today.

“I’ve been called just about everything, but this is the first time I’ll be called a Hall of Famer. It’s nice,” Nash laughs. “It’s been a long 25 years, but this business has been great to me. Without wrestling, there’s no way I’d be where I am today. I’d probably own a strip club someplace.”

Nash will be going in as Kevin Nash rather than Diesel according to Rolling Stone, which confirmed it with a WWE spokesman after the interview.

Kevin Nash made his WCW debut in 1990, first as part of a tag team and then getting repackaged as Oz. In 1992, Oz left the building and Vinnie Vegas entered the scene, later joining a stable led by DDP and then tag teaming with DDP himself.

In 1993 WWE came calling and Nash signed a contract and given the name Diesel. He was Shawn Michaels’ bodyguard at first but quickly started to make an impact of his own. In 1994, he won the WWF title for the first time from Bob Backlund in just eight seconds.

Nash stayed in WWE until mid 1996 when after WrestleMania XII, he left for the big money in WCW and along with Hall and Hogan, he created the nWo, one of the best angles in professional wrestling history at the time. Nash stayed in WCW till the company was sold to WWE.

In 2002, he returned to the WWE and stayed there till January 2004 before moving to TNA Wrestling where he spent 7 years with the company. From 2011 onwards he made several appearances on WWE television including a feud with CM Punk which was aborted.

During his time in WWE, he won the WWE title once, the Intercontinental title once, and the Tag Team title twice. He was a five time WCW champion and a 9 time WCW Tag Team champion, and in TNA he was the Legends champion twice and won the TNA Tag Team title once.