Participants and matches in the WWE World Heavyweight title tournament

The tournament for the WWE World Heavyweight title will feature 16 Superstars with 8 qualifying matches, 4 quarter finals, 2 semi finals, and a final and it all starts tonight on Monday Night Raw.

Apart from the final, the semi finals are pretty much a lock for the Survivor Series pay-per-view with the qualifying matches and quarter finals held over the next four television tapings. This is certainly different than the 1998 Survivor Series where WWE held the whole tournament during the show, a tournament which was won by The Rock who joined the Corporation.

The qualifying matches include Roman Reigns vs Big Show, Cesaro vs Sheamus, Del Rio vs Stardust, Kalisto vs Ryback, Titus O’Neil vs Kevin Owens, Neville vs King Barrett, Dolph Ziggler vs The Miz, and Dean Ambrose vs Tyler Breeze. The first four matches are on the left bracket while the other four are on the right bracket meaning the first 8 Superstars mentioned cannot meet any of the other 8 until the final.

Colin Vassallohttps://www.wrestling-online.com
Colin Vassallo has been editor of Wrestling-Online since 1996. He is born and raised in Malta, follows professional wrestling and MMA, loves to travel, and is a big Apple fan!


WWE reveals more details on Peacock move for WWE Network plus special offer

WWE issued a press release on the move of the WWE Network to Peacock starting on March 18.WWE will...

Ethan Page joins All Elite Wrestling

Ethan Page was the other mystery participant at the pay-per-view last night, joining the Faces of Revolution ladder match...

Kevin Patrick joins WWE as new host and commentator

WWE today announced the hiring of Kevin Patrick as the new backstage correspondent for Monday Night Raw, play-by-play commentator...

Stories you might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you