NXT UK Heritage Cup tournament announced


WWE today announced the NXT UK Heritage Cup, an eight-man tournament playing out over the next several weeks using the old British wrestling rules. The announcement came by Sid Scala, assistant to NXT UK General Manager on the NXT UK episode on the WWE Network.

The rules, explained by NXT General Manager William Regal, are different from your typical wrestling match. Each match will consist of six, three-minute rounds with just 20 seconds break between each round. All matches are two-out-of-three falls and you can win via pin, countout, or submission. Once a fall occurs, the round ends and a DQ or KO instantly ends the match. If a match goes to six rounds, whoever leads wins.

Announced for the tournament are Flash Morgan Webster, Noam Dar, Alexander Wolfe, A-Kid, Dave Mastiff, Joseph Connors, and Trent Seven. The last competitor was not revealed.

NXT UK returns with new episodes from the BT Sport Studios in London next Thursday.