NXT Cruiserweight title retired following title unification match

The NXT Cruiserweight title has been officially retired after Roderick Strong yesterday lost his title unification match against North American champion Carmelo Hayes.

The match kicked off the NXT New Year’s Evil special on USA Network and it ended the leader of The Diamond Mine’s 104-day title reign.

The Cruiserweight title was rebranded from WWE to NXT in October 2019 and was only defended on NXT and 205 Live. Since then, eight different champions held the title, including Hayes with yesterday’s win.

Lio Rush, Angel Garza, Jordan Devlin, Santos Escobar, Kushida, and Roderick Strong made up the list of champions of this NXT version of the title.

The title was originally brought back in 2016 with the Cruiserweight Classic, with TJ Perkins winning the tournament and the title.

Hayes will now be referred to only as the North American champion moving forward.

Colin Vassallohttps://www.wrestling-online.com
Colin Vassallo has been editor of Wrestling-Online since 1996. He is born and raised in Malta, follows professional wrestling and MMA, loves to travel, and is a big Apple fan!

Stories you might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you


Smackdown rating for 01/21/2022

Friday Night Smackdown did 2,136,000 viewers in the overnight ratings, up 77,000 viewers from last week's overnight. Last week's...

Lio Rush departing All Elite Wrestling

Lio Rush has suddenly announced that his contract with AEW will be expiring on February 14 and will become...

Impact rating for 01/20/2022

This week's episode of Impact Wrestling on AXS TV drew 126,000 viewers, up 15,000 viewers from last week's broadcast....
sports betting site betway