New NXT titles to be handed out to winners tonight

NXT General Manager William Regal revealed during this morning’s Axxess session that new NXT titles will be presented to the respective winners tonight at NXT Takeover: Orlando.

This is the first time that NXT will be undergoing a revamp of their titles. The NXT championship was established on July 1, 2012 with Seth Rollins winning the inaugural tournament. The NXT Tag Team titles were established on January 23, 2013 with the tag team British Ambition, consisting of Neville and Oliver Grey, winning the inaugural tournament, while the NXT Women’s title was established on April 5, 2013 with Paige winning the inaugural tournament.

Since the established dates, there have been 10 NXT champions, 11 NXT Tag Team champions, and 5 NXT Women’s champions.

Colin Vassallo
Colin Vassallohttps://www.wrestling-online.com
Colin Vassallo has been editor of Wrestling-Online since 1996. He is born and raised in Malta, follows professional wrestling and MMA, loves to travel, and is a big Apple fan!

Stories you might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you


AJ Styles arrives in Tokyo for his Pro Wrestling NOAH match

WWE Superstar AJ Styles has arrived in Japan for his match against Naomichi Marufuji on Saturday, July 13. The match,...

First two matches announced for Dynamite’s 250th episode next week

AEW will be celebrating 250 episodes of Dynamite next week and already announced two matches for the special occasion. The...

John Cena posts statement on upcoming retirement tour

16-time world champion John Cena posted a statement on his upcoming retirement, his first public words since announcing that...

Discover more from Wrestling-Online.com

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading