Continental Classic tournament to crown AEW Triple Crown champion as titles are merged

The Continental Classic tournament will crown the new AEW Triple Crown champion as AEW President Tony Khan announced that the ROH World title and the NJPW Strong Openweight title will be merged.

Khan said that at the Worlds End pay-per-view, the winner becomes the AEW Continental champion as well, which is why they’re calling it the Triple Crown with all the titles merged together.

Khan also revealed the scoring system for the tournament, with three points for a win and one point for a draw, similar to those for soccer/football leagues especially in Europe. In addition, there will be no interference in any of the matches.

With the announcement also came the additions of Eddie Kingston, the current ROH World and NJPW Strong Openweight champion, and Mark Briscoe to the tournament. They join Bryan Danielson and Andrade El Idolo, with eight more set to be announced.

The round-robin tournament starts next Wednesday on Dynamite and continues on Rampage and Collision every week.

Colin Vassallo
Colin Vassallohttps://www.wrestling-online.com
Colin Vassallo has been editor of Wrestling-Online since 1996. He is born and raised in Malta, follows professional wrestling and MMA, loves to travel, and is a big Apple fan!

Stories you might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you


MJF says he is suffering from a torn labrum

In a now-deleted message on X, AEW champion MJF said that he is suffering from a torn labrum but...

CM Punk returns to headline Raw with a live mic!

CM Punk made his long-awaited return to Monday Night Raw yesterday and headlined the show with a live mic...

AEW Vice President of Show and Creative Coordination QT Marshall resigns from company

QT Marshall, who apart from having an on-screen role with AEW also served as Vice President of Show and...