Women’s tournament on WWE Network renamed to Mae Young Classic

The 32-women tournament that will start this Summer on the WWE Network has been named the Mae Young Classic, honoring WWE Hall of Famer Mae Young who passed away in 2014 at the age of 90. The announcement was made by Triple H on Twitter.

No wrestlers have been announced so far apart from the fact that the 32 participants will be coming from 17 different countries. Last week, Jim Ross confirmed that he would be involved in the play-by-play for the tournament. The two previous tournaments had Daniel Bryan and Mauro Ranallo calling the Cruiserweight Classic and Michael Cole and Nigel McGuinness calling the UK Championship tournament.

Tapings will kick off on July 13 and July 14 at Full Sail University in Winter Park, Florida. Tickets go on sale at 10AM this coming Friday at NXTtickets.com.

Colin Vassallohttps://www.wrestling-online.com
Colin Vassallo has been editor of Wrestling-Online since 1996. He is born and raised in Malta, follows professional wrestling and MMA, loves to travel, and is a big Apple fan!

Stories you might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you


Smackdown rating for 05/07/2021

The throwback episode of Friday Night Smackdown seemed like it was a hit, with the overnight numbers showing 2,156,000...

Pat McAfee films skit impersonating Vince McMahon for throwback Smackdown

Smackdown color commentator - or as they like to call them now, analysts - Pat McAfee alluded that he...

Cesaro gets Universal title shot at WrestleMania Backlash

The second main event for WrestleMania Backlash was announced on Smackdown last night and will see Roman Reigns defend...