Roman Reigns becomes Grand Slam champion with Intercontinental title win

The Miz’ long Intercontinental title reign came to a halt last night on Raw after he lost the belt to The Shield member Roman Reigns.

This is Roman Reigns’ first run as an Intercontinental champion and with this win he joins the elite list of WWE Grand Slam champions. The current format of a Grand Slam champion requires a World title, either WWE or Universal, a Tag Team title, either Raw or Smackdown, the Intercontinental title, as well as the United States title.

Reigns is the ninth individual since 2000 to be a Grand Slam champ, joining Kurt Angle, Eddie Guerrero, Edge, Big Show, The Miz, Daniel Bryan, Chris Jericho, and Dean Ambrose.

There are 12 Grand Slam champions in the old, or original, format which required winning the WWE title or World Heavyweight title, WWE Tag Team or World Tag Team, Intercontinental, European, and Hardcore titles. Those individuals in this category are Shawn Michaels, Triple H, Kane, Chris Jericho, Kurt Angle, Eddie Guerrero, Rob Van Dam, Booker T, Jeff Hardy, JBL, Christian, and Big Show.

Colin Vassallohttps://www.wrestling-online.com
Colin Vassallo has been editor of Wrestling-Online since 1996. He is born and raised in Malta, follows professional wrestling and MMA, loves to travel, and is a big Apple fan!

Stories you might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you


Impact rating for 05/06/2021

The May 6 episode of Impact Wrestling on AXS TV did a total of 123,000 viewers, up 3,000 viewers...

The Godfather on Stone Cold Steve Austin’s Broken Skull Sessions

WWE Hall of Famer Charles Wright, better known as The Godfather, revealed on his Instagram that he has recorded...

Coronavirus outbreak hits New Japan Pro Wrestling roster

A coronavirus outbreak within New Japan Pro Wrestling has resulted in seven positive results among its roster.The positive tests...