Reigns, Rollins, and Ambrose make history at Money In The Bank

The former members of The Shield made history last night, becoming the only members of a current or past faction in wrestling history to all hold the WWE World Heavyweight title…in one night.

Roman Reigns, on his third title reign, entered Money In The Bank as the champion. He previously won the title at the Survivor Series last year beating Dean Ambrose in the tournament final, only to lose it five minutes later to Sheamus. He won his rematch on the December 14 Raw but then lost it at the Royal Rumble 30-man over-the-top rope battle royal to Triple H. He regained the title at WrestleMania 32 against Triple H.

Seth Rollins never lost the WWE title during his first reign, a title he won when he cashed in his MITB briefcase at WrestleMania 31, pinning Roman Reigns. He got injured in November at a non-televised live event in Dublin, Ireland, and surrendered the title the next day. He won his second WWE World Heavyweight title at Money In The Bank yesterday but his win, just like Reigns’ win at Survivor Series, did not last very long.

Dean Ambrose had never won the WWE World Heavyweight title before and his chance came at Survivor Series in the tournament final against Roman Reigns. Unfortunately for him he came up short that night but last night in Las Vegas, Ambrose gambled his MITB briefcase, cashing in on the new champion to become the new champion himself in just nine seconds.

However what happened last night, the WWE title changing hands twice in one day, is not something new. It has happened before, most notably at SummerSlam when Daniel Bryan defeated John Cena only to be beaten immediately by Randy Orton and at Survivor Series when Roman Reigns won and was then beat by Sheamus.

Colin Vassallohttps://www.wrestling-online.com
Colin Vassallo has been editor of Wrestling-Online since 1996. He is born and raised in Malta, follows professional wrestling and MMA, loves to travel, and is a big Apple fan!


Adam Cole to explain attack on Kyle O’Reilly tonight on NXT on USA

In a rare move, WWE has already announced the full card for tonight's NXT on USA Network, a card...

Fenix vs Archer headlines Dynamite on TNT tonight

AEW will be announcing more details on the signing of Paul Wight tonight on Dynamite although it was not...

Young Rock S1 E2 rating

Episode two of Young Rock, titled On the Road Again, drew a total of 3,483,000 viewers on NBC yesterday....

Stories you might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you