NXT Cruiserweight title tournament rules and participants announced

WWE has revealed the format and participants of the upcoming tournament that will crown an interim NXT Cruiserweight champion. The news was announced last week by William Regal due to the current champion, Jordan Devlin, being stuck in Ireland and unable to defend the title.

The eight-man tournament will be split in two groups of four with Superstars competing against each of the three other members of their group. The one with the best record in each group will advance to the championship match and any ties will be broken by head-to-head record. The winner of group A will then face the winner of group B to determine the new interim NXT Cruiserweight champion.

Those in group A include Kushida, Drake Maverick, Tony Nese, and Jake Atlas while those in group B are Isaiah “Swerve” Scott, El Hijo del Fantasma, Akira Tozawa, and Gentleman Jack Gallagher.

The tournament begins this Wednesday live on NXT on USA Network.

Colin Vassallohttps://www.wrestling-online.com
Colin Vassallo has been editor of Wrestling-Online since 1996. He is born and raised in Malta, follows professional wrestling and MMA, loves to travel, and is a big Apple fan!


Full betting odds for night two of NXT Takeover: Stand & Deliver

It's night two of NXT Takeover: Stand & Deliver and if it's anything like yesterday, then we are in...

Triple H and Shawn Michaels with extra praise to NXT UK champion Walter

One of the men who really impressed last night at Takeover was the Austrian superstar Walter. The NXT UK...

WrestleMania store opens in Tampa

The WrestleMania store launched today in Tampa ahead of the big pay-per-view this weekend.The store is located within the...

Stories you might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you