Brock Lesnar headlines sixth SummerSlam in a row since return


SummerSlam seems to be the Brock Lesnar show as since 2014, Lesnar has main evented the pay-per-view for the sixth year in a row last night.

When Lesnar returned in 2012, he main event SummerSlam that year against Triple H in a no disqualification match, a match he won via submission. In 2013, he wrestled CM Punk in another no disqualification match but that year was the only time he did not main event SummerSlam since his return.

In 2014, Brock Lesnar destroyed John Cena in the main event to win the WWE title. The following year in 2015, Brock had another match against The Undertaker and this time Taker won as a revenge for his loss at WrestleMania XXX.

In 2016, Lesnar main evented SummerSlam with Randy Orton, a match which received a lot of criticism for the way it ended after Lesnar legitimately opened up a huge gash on Orton’s head with a couple of nasty-looking elbows. In 2017, he had three other opponents in Samoa Joe, Braun Strowman, and Roman Reigns, but Lesnar still came out on top.

Last year, Roman Reigns finally got the victory over Lesnar, a victory which eluded him quite a number of times. It only took around six minutes for Reigns to dispose of Lesnar in the main event and win the Universal title.

And this year, Lesnar lost clean again to Seth Rollins. After weeks of destroying him on Raw, Lesnar sold like a champ as Rollins beat him with the Curb Stomp to regain the Universal title.