Connect with us


Record five title changes at SummerSlam




A historic 30th annual SummerSlam was capped off by the most title changes in one night: five in total out of eight title matches.

It was bad news if you were a champion until AJ Styles broke the “streak” towards the second half of the pay-per-view, as The New Day, Akira Tozawa, Naomi, Alexa Bliss, and Sheamus and Cesaro all lost their respective titles to The Usos, Neville, Natalya, Sasha Banks, and Ambrose and Rollins.

AJ Styles, Jinder Mahal, and Brock Lesnar kept the United States title, WWE title, and Universal title respectively.

The Intercontinental title held by The Miz was the only title not to be defended on the show. This was a record for SummerSlam with eight title defenses.

Colin Vassallo has been editor of Wrestling-Online since 1996. He is born and raised in Malta, follows professional wrestling and MMA, loves to travel, and is a big Apple fan!


Get The WWE Network