Categories and nominees for the 2016 NXT Year-End Awards announced


The 2016 NXT Year-End Awards nominees were announced today on WWE.COM. This is the second time that WWE is doing the awards for NXT. The categories and nominees for each category are:

NXT Takeover of the Year: Dallas, The End, Brooklyn II, and Toronto; NXT Tag Team of the Year: American Alpha, Authors of Pain, TM61; The Revival; and DIY; NXT Breakout Star of the Year: Sanity, No Way Jose, Ember Moon, Andrade “Cien” Almas, and Peyton Royce and Billie Kay; NXT Female of the Year: Bayley, Nia Jax, and Asuka; NXT Male of the Year: Finn Balor, Samoa Joe, Shinsuke Nakamura, and Bobby Roode; NXT Competitor of the Year: Samoa Joe, Asuka, Finn Balor, Nia Jax, Shinsuke Nakamura, Bayley, and Bobby Roode; NXT Match of the Year: Bálor vs Nakamura (July 13), Asuka vs James (Toronto), American Alpha vs The Revival (The End), Zayn vs Nakamura (Dallas), Bayley vs Asuka (Dallas), Zayn vs Joe (February 17), Bálor vs Joe (The End), #DIY vs The Revival (Toronto), Bayley vs Jax (July 20), Dillinger vs Roode (Toronto), Neville vs Bálor (March 2), Nakamura vs Samoa Joe (Toronto), and American Alpha vs The Revival (July 6).

The winners of each category will be announced as part of the one-hour NXT Takeover: San Antonio Kickoff Show, which will take place January 28. Go to WWE.COM for voting information.

Last year, Enzo and Cass won the Tag Team of the Year while Bayley and Balor won the Female and Male Competitors of the Year. The NXT Takeover Brooklyn was announced as the Takeover Event of the Year and the match Bayley vs Sasha Banks at that same Takeover won the Match of the Year. Finn Balor then won the big one, the overall Competitor of the Year.